On the public 2026 benchmarks a legal click averages $9.87 and a legal lead $131.63, while lawyers posting in r/LawFirm put contested personal injury clicks at $80 to $200-plus and a signed case anywhere from $960 to $8,000. Your own number is cost per lead divided by your contact, qualified and sign rates.
This is the 2026 data page. Every number below carries a publisher, a year and a link, and is labelled primary vendor-published peer-reported or ours. If you want the method rather than the data, the companion piece is Personal Injury Google Ads Cost per Signed Case, which walks the same arithmetic slowly.
What "peer-reported" means here. Several figures in the table below come from personal injury lawyers and agency operators posting in public forum threads. They are anecdotes with a name, a date and a permalink, not studies. No sample, no method, no audit. They are included because they are the only public numbers with a real metro attached, and because the spread between them is the actual finding.
Why do personal injury clicks cost what they do?
Three things set the price, and none of them is Google being greedy.
The case is worth a lot, so the bid can be. A signed motor vehicle accident case carries a contingency fee that can run into five figures. When a keyword can return $25,000, a firm can rationally pay several hundred dollars for the click that might produce it. Every firm in the metro does the same arithmetic, and the auction clears at whatever the best-funded bidder can justify.
Everyone is bidding on the same forty words. "Car accident lawyer near me" and its cousins are a tiny keyword set with enormous commercial intent. There is no long tail to hide in, which is why LocaliQ's 2026 Search Advertising Benchmarks put Attorneys and Legal Services at $9.87 per click, the most expensive category in the report, against an all-industry average of $5.42, and why that blended legal figure understates what a contested injury term costs.
The billboard firms are not price sensitive. A solo practitioner described the felt experience in r/LawFirm in August 2026: "the cost per click in our market is getting insane. $200+ per click just to compete with the huge billboard firms is eating up half our margins, and scaling ad spend further feels like throwing money into a furnace." (source, peer-reported)
What do clicks and signed cases actually cost, by metro?
Below is every public figure with a market attached that could be sourced to a publisher, a date and a link. Read it as a spread, not a benchmark.
| Market | Reported figure | What it measures | Source and date | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All US legal (blended) | $9.87 per click $131.63 per lead | Google Ads and Microsoft Ads, thousands of accounts, all practice areas | LocaliQ 2026 Search Advertising Benchmarks, updated 1 Jun 2026 | vendor-published |
| 210 US markets | $80 to $181 per click | Google Search CPC on personal injury keywords | r/Legalmarketing post by an ad-tracking operator, 21 Mar 2026 | peer-reported |
| Los Angeles, CA | $344 per lead (highest in sample) | Google Local Services Ads cost per lead, Jan 2022 data, 15 accounts | r/Legalmarketing pricing guide, 24 May 2026 | peer-reported |
| Kentucky | $140 per lead (lowest in sample) | same sample | same, 24 May 2026 | peer-reported |
| US average of that sample | $240 per lead $960 per signed case | Local Services Ads, at a stated one-in-four sign rate | same, 24 May 2026 | peer-reported |
| Saturated metros, LA named | $150 to $400 per lead; "past $340" in LA | Local Services Ads cost per lead | r/LawFirm comment, 30 Apr 2026 | peer-reported |
| Arizona / Nevada | $6,250 of spend modelled to about 2 signed cases, roughly $3,125 each | Google Search worked example at an assumed $50 CPC, 10% lead rate, 20% close | r/LawFirm comment, 51 points, 14 Nov 2025 | peer-reported |
| Denver, CO | "I DREAM of being able to sign PI cases for only $2,000" | cost per signed case, replying that the Arizona estimates read low | r/LawFirm comment, 14 Nov 2025 | peer-reported |
| Denver, CO (MVA qualifiers) | "CAC can easily reach $8,000"; "If you can do it for less than $3,000 a case you're doing incredible" | cost per signed case by how tight the qualifiers are | r/LawFirm comment, 14 Nov 2025 | peer-reported |
| Mixed book, metro not stated | $1,200 per acquisition at $30k a month; $3,500 at $80k a month | Local Services Ads cost per acquisition across one operator's client accounts | r/LawFirm comment, 27 Apr 2026 | peer-reported |
| Metro not stated | "$200+ per click just to compete with the huge billboard firms" | Google Search CPC, English personal injury terms | r/LawFirm post, 6 Aug 2026 | peer-reported |
Every row links to the thread or page it came from. Vendor-published rows were written by companies selling into this market. Peer-reported rows are single lawyers describing their own accounts, with no sample and no audit.
The honest reading: reported cost per signed case spans roughly $960 to $8,000, and the spread inside one country is far wider than the spread between any two metros. Los Angeles costs more per lead than Kentucky, which surprises nobody. What should be uncomfortable is that two firms in the same metro, buying from the same auction, can sit at opposite ends of that band. The variable is not the bid.
What changes the number?
Metro
Real, and the smallest of the four. Los Angeles Local Services Ads leads came in at $344 against Kentucky's $140 in the same 15-account sample, so roughly two and a half times. That is a big difference until you look at a cost per signed case band that runs eight times wide.
English versus Spanish
The English auction is the contested one. A firm owner in August 2026 wrote that "a few people in DMs suggested tapping into Spanish search volume since CPCs are way lower" (source, peer-reported). Our own crawl below shows why: most firms are not there. A thinner auction is cheaper, but the discount only survives to the retainer if someone answers in Spanish.
Exclusivity
Whether the lead was sold once or five times. A firm owner put it plainly in December 2025: buying pre-vetted leads means "you're paying a premium for inconsistent quality and your real cost per signed case ends up way higher than it looks" (source, peer-reported). A shared lead has a good cost per lead and a terrible sign rate, which is the worst possible combination for the only number that matters.
Intake speed
The biggest lever, and the cheapest. Contact rate sits in the denominator of the formula below, so it multiplies through everything after it. A lawyer summarised the mechanism in September 2026: "In PI, whoever calls back first usually signs the case, so this one is revenue, not admin." (source, peer-reported) The full treatment is in law firm intake and speed to lead.
How do you compute your own cost per signed case?
One line of arithmetic. Everything above is context; this is the number.
Cost per signed case = cost per lead ÷ (contact rate × qualified rate × sign rate)
Worked through, using the 2026 legal average as a floor and illustrative rates. A firm reaches 70% of its leads, 40% of those qualify, and intake signs 50% of the qualified. That is 0.7 × 0.4 × 0.5 = 0.14, one signed case for every seven leads. At $131.63 per lead, about $940. At a contested-metro $600 per lead, about $4,300.
Now change one input. Lift the contact rate from 70% to 90%, touch nothing else, and the contested-metro number falls to roughly $3,340, a 22% cut. To get the same 22% out of bidding you would have to buy the same clicks for 22% less in an auction where the billboard firms are not price sensitive. One of those two projects is achievable this month.
The number does not exist unless the retainer gets back to Google. Every lead has to carry a click identifier into your CRM, and when intake signs, that has to return as an offline conversion import. Without it, bidding optimises toward form fills and your report shows the cheapest number in the chain instead of the one you pay. Expect 60 to 90 days before the figure means anything, because retainers arrive weeks after the click.
What did we find when we checked who is actually reachable?
On 15 September 2026 we crawled the public websites of personal injury firms in two metros as part of an ongoing method we call the 9pm Test. This is our own data, and here is exactly what it is and is not.
| Signal | Los Angeles, CA | Houston, TX |
|---|---|---|
| Firm sites in the sample | 160 (139 readable) | 148 (142 readable) |
| Page actually written in Spanish | 16 of 139 (11.5%) | 23 of 142 (16.2%) |
| Machine-translated or widget-translated only | 62 of 139 | 64 of 142 |
| No Spanish path at all | 61 of 139 | 55 of 142 |
| Any credible after-hours signal | 47 of 139 (33.8%) | 38 of 142 (26.8%) |
| Web form that promises a response time | 9 of 139 | 9 of 142 |
| Web form that asks a qualifying question | 10 of 139 | 10 of 142 |
| Spanish spoken at home in the metro | 34.4% | 30.2% |
ours Wealth Marketing AI 9pm Test, crawled 15 September 2026. primary Metro language shares: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2024 1-year, table S1601.
Method, stated plainly. Public GET requests to firm home pages and any linked Spanish pages, browser User-Agent, one pass, 15 September 2026. No forms were submitted and no calls were placed. Everything above is a non-interactive public signal read off a page that anyone can load. "Page actually written in Spanish" means a Spanish page that is not a translation widget and does not fall back to English navigation or an English page title. Sites that returned an error, a bot wall or a dead domain are counted as unreadable and excluded from the percentages. Firm names are withheld; only aggregates are published. This is a website audit, not a test of what happens when someone calls.
What it means for your cost per case: in a metro where roughly a third of residents speak Spanish at home, about one firm in nine in Los Angeles and one in six in Houston has a page a Spanish speaker can read, and about one in four shows any sign of being reachable outside business hours. That is the shape of a cheaper auction, and it is also the shape of a contact rate problem. Buying the cheaper clicks without fixing the second half just moves where the money leaks. More on that side of the market in Spanish-speaking personal injury cases.
Want your metro's numbers before you spend on it?
We run a Spanish-first case acquisition system for one personal injury firm per metro: Google Search in native Spanish and English, qualifying pages, web leads answered in minutes, and every case tracked from click to signed retainer. Flat monthly fee, never a share of your fees.
See if my metro is open A 60-second check. One firm per metro.What does a flat fee look like against a percentage?
Start with the rule, because it settles the question before economics get a vote. Under ABA Model Rule 5.4(a), "a lawyer or law firm shall not share legal fees with a nonlawyer," with a short list of exceptions, and most states have adopted it in similar form (Texas Rule 5.04, for example). Most states' Rule 7.2(b) separately limits giving anything of value to someone for recommending the lawyer's services beyond the reasonable cost of advertising (North Carolina's version). That is why percentage-of-fee marketing deals are not on the menu for law firms, and why per-case pricing deserves a look from your ethics counsel. This is not legal advice.
What is left is a choice between three pricing shapes, and each one points the vendor's incentive somewhere different.
| Model | What the vendor optimises | What happens to cost per signed case | Who carries the risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay per lead | Lead volume, and selling the same lead more than once | Cost per lead looks excellent; sign rate collapses, so the real number rises | The firm, entirely |
| Percentage of fees | Not available to law firms under Rule 5.4(a) | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Flat monthly fee | Keeping the account, which means the firm's cost per signed case falling | The only number that decides renewal, so it is the number that gets worked | Shared: the firm funds ads, the vendor's fee is fixed at any volume |
The point is not that flat fee is morally better. It is that a flat fee is the only one of the three where the vendor earns the same at 40 leads or 400, so the only lever left is the one the firm cares about.
Which is the structure behind our own offer: flat $5,000 a month, never a share of fees, one firm per metro, and the firm owns every ad account and domain. Whoever you use, ask for the same thing in writing: one weekly page with spend, leads, qualified leads, consults booked, retainers signed, cost per signed case, and speed to first contact. A lawyer in a 2026 thread on verifying agencies put the test better than any vendor could: "You measure the results. Total leads, cost per lead, cost per acquisition. The marketing agency may like to talk about engagement, rankings, etc. You should not care about that." (source, peer-reported)
Frequently asked questions
What does a personal injury case cost on Google Ads in 2026?
On the public 2026 benchmarks a legal click averages $9.87 and a legal lead $131.63, while lawyers posting in r/LawFirm put contested personal injury clicks at $80 to $200-plus and a signed case anywhere from $960 to $8,000. Your own number is cost per lead divided by your contact, qualified and sign rates.
How much is a personal injury click in 2026?
LocaliQ's 2026 Search Advertising Benchmarks, last updated 1 June 2026, put Attorneys and Legal Services at $9.87 per click against an all-industry average of $5.42. That blends every practice area. An agency tracking legal advertising across 210 US markets posted a range of $80 to $181 per click for personal injury keywords in March 2026, and a firm owner in a large metro described paying $200-plus per click in August 2026.
What is a typical cost per signed personal injury case from Google Ads?
There is no benchmark, only self-reported figures. Publicly posted numbers in 2025 and 2026 span $960 on Local Services Ads at a one-in-four sign rate, $1,200 to $3,500 per acquisition across one agency's Local Services Ads accounts, roughly $3,125 in an Arizona worked example, and up to $8,000 for motor vehicle accident cases with tight qualifiers. Treat all of these as peer-reported anecdote, not study.
How do I calculate my own cost per signed case?
Cost per signed case equals cost per lead divided by the product of three rates: the share of leads a human actually speaks to, the share of those that qualify, and the share of qualified callers intake signs. The number only exists if signed retainers are recorded in your CRM and imported back into Google Ads as offline conversions.
Why are Spanish-language personal injury clicks cheaper?
Fewer firms bid on them. In our own 9pm Test crawl of 15 September 2026, only 16 of 139 reachable Los Angeles personal injury firm sites and 23 of 142 in Houston had a page actually written in Spanish, in metros where the Census puts Spanish spoken at home at 34.4% and 30.2%. A thinner auction is cheaper than a contested one, but only if someone can answer in Spanish when the phone rings.
Does intake speed change cost per signed case more than bidding?
In the arithmetic, yes. Contact rate multiplies through the whole funnel, so lifting it from 70% to 90% cuts cost per signed case by about 22% with no change to bids. Bids only change the first number in the chain; contact rate changes every number after it.
Can a marketing agency take a percentage of a personal injury fee?
Under ABA Model Rule 5.4(a), adopted in similar form by most states, a lawyer or law firm shall not share legal fees with a nonlawyer. That is why law firm marketing is priced as flat fees or advertising costs rather than a share of fees. This is not legal advice; confirm your state's rule with ethics counsel.
How long before the cost per signed case number is reliable?
Roughly 60 to 90 days of consistent spend, because signed retainers arrive weeks after the click that produced them. Judge the first two months on lead quality and speed to first contact, then start reading cost per signed case.
Method and sources
Our own crawl is described in full in the method note above: public GET requests, one pass, 15 September 2026, no forms submitted and no calls placed, firm names withheld. Every external figure quoted on this page is listed below with its publisher, year and link. Forum figures are single-operator anecdotes with a permalink, not studies, and are labelled as such everywhere they appear.
- LocaliQ, 2026. Search Advertising Benchmarks, last updated 1 June 2026. Attorneys and Legal Services: $9.87 CPC, 5.87% CTR, 5.55% CVR, $131.63 CPL; all-industry $5.42 CPC and $66.69 CPL. vendor-publishedlocaliq.com/blog/search-advertising-benchmarks
- US Census Bureau, 2024. American Community Survey 2024 1-year, table S1601, Language Spoken at Home. Los Angeles 34.4%, Houston 30.2% Spanish spoken at home, population 5 and over. primarydata.census.gov/table/ACSST1Y2024.S1601
- Google Ads Help. About offline conversion imports. primarysupport.google.com/google-ads/answer/2998031
- American Bar Association. Model Rule 5.4, Professional Independence of a Lawyer. primaryamericanbar.org, Model Rule 5.4
- State Bar of Texas. Texas Disciplinary Rule 5.04, Professional Independence of a Lawyer. primarylegalethicstexas.com, Rule 5.04
- North Carolina State Bar. Rule 7.2(b), Communications Concerning a Lawyer's Services. primaryncbar.gov, Rule 7.2
- r/Legalmarketing, 24 May 2026. Local Services Ads pricing guide: $240 average PI lead across 15 accounts (Jan 2022 data), Kentucky $140 low, Los Angeles $344 high, one in four signing, $960 per signed case. Written by an operator selling into this market. A forum post, not a study. peer-reportedreddit.com/r/Legalmarketing/comments/1tmfd9c
- r/Legalmarketing, 21 March 2026. "$80-181" CPC range for personal injury keywords, from an operator claiming to track legal advertising across 210 US markets. Self-described scale, unverified. A forum post, not a study. peer-reportedreddit.com/r/Legalmarketing/comments/1rzm99r
- r/LawFirm, 14 November 2025. Arizona worked example ($50 CPC assumption, $6,250 to about 2 signed cases, 51 points), and in the same thread the Denver replies: "$2,000" as an aspiration and "CAC can easily reach $8,000". peer-reportedreddit.com/r/LawFirm/comments/1owg7c2
- r/LawFirm, 27 and 30 April 2026. Local Services Ads cost per acquisition of $1,200 at $30k a month and $3,500 at $80k a month; separately, a $150 to $400 LSA lead range with LA "past $340". peer-reportedthe $1,200 to $3,500 comment and the $150 to $400 comment
- r/LawFirm, 6 August 2026. "$200+ per click just to compete with the huge billboard firms", and the Spanish-CPC remark from the same post. peer-reportedreddit.com/r/LawFirm/comments/1vgxqg6
- r/LawFirm, 4 December 2025. On pre-vetted lead vendors: "your real cost per signed case ends up way higher than it looks". peer-reportedreddit.com/r/LawFirm/comments/1i4azgy
- r/LawFirm, 14 September 2026. "In PI, whoever calls back first usually signs the case, so this one is revenue, not admin." peer-reportedreddit.com/r/LawFirm/comments/1wdgk5m
- r/Lawyertalk, 2026. On verifying an agency: "You measure the results. Total leads, cost per lead, cost per acquisition." peer-reportedreddit.com/r/Lawyertalk/comments/1qpoakz
- Wealth Marketing AI, 2026. The 9pm Test, Los Angeles and Houston, crawled 15 September 2026. Non-interactive public-signal website crawl; no forms submitted, no calls placed; firm names withheld. oursMethod described in full in the note above.